Help Configuring WireGuard VPN on a Raspberry Pi: Stuck On "Resolving Hosts"

Hi guys,

This is my first project of this kind so please go easy on me!

I’ve been trying to create a pivpn server using Wireguard as I’ve heard good stuff about them. I’ve done everything here but something is wrong somewhere as when I activate the vpn, it connects but sticks on ‘resolving hosts’ in the bottom left corner. I believe this is a DNS issue but I’m not sure. I’ve set my pi’s vpn as a static address and have portforwarded on my router but I’m not 100% sure I’ve done this correctly. Does anyone have a clue what the problem might be? I’m connecting via ethernet port and managing the pi via ssh on a mac if that helps anything.

Any help would be hugely appreciated!

Hi there,

In your client config, try manually forcing a DNS with something like DNS = 1.1.1.1 here.

If that doesn’t work, do you see any actual data transfer? The info from this troubleshooting section might also be helpful. If you post output, just make sure you hide your keys. :slight_smile:

Welcome to the club,
TorqueWrench

Hi TorqueWrench,

Thanks for getting back to me so quickly!

I’ve tried the troubleshooting methods you’ve mentioned and this is the output I get after using sudo wg :

interface : wg0
public key : [key deleted]
private key : (hidden)
listening port : 51820

peer : [key deleted]

preshared key : (hidden)
allowed ips : 10.6.0.2/32

I’ve added to nano wg0.conf :

[Interface]
Address = 10.253.3.1/24
SaveConfig = true
PrivateKey = <insert server_private_key>
ListenPort = 51900

PostUp = iptables -A FORWARD -i %i -j ACCEPT; iptables -A FORWARD -o %i -j ACCEPT; iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -o eth0 -j MASQUERADE
PostDown = iptables -D FORWARD -i %i -j ACCEPT; iptables -D FORWARD -o %i -j ACCEPT; iptables -t nat -D POSTROUTING -o eth0 -j MASQUERADE

[Peer]
PublicKey = <insert client_public_key>
AllowedIPs = 10.253.3.2/32